Trilogy earns Hoffer honor

The Delta Tango Trilogy has been judged a finalist for the 2022 Eric Hoffer Book Award in the adult commercial fiction category.

The three books—Fleeing the Past, Felina’s Spell and Moments of Truth—were conceived by Christopher LaGrone, based on his experiences as a U.S. Border Patrol agent. He died of altitude sickness in the Andes before the first book was published in January 2021.

An international competition, the Hoffer Awards were founded to honor the memory of philosopher-author Eric Hoffer, recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1983. He is best known for the book The True Believer.

High Praise from best-selling authors Cussler and Coel

Two months before he died, best-selling author Clive Cussler, said The Delta Tango Trilogy protagonist Layne Sheppard’s “life of trials and sorrows rivals any fiction story today.” That’s high praise from one of the most successful adventure authors of all time. And even more impressive considering that Cussler was commenting on debut work.

Another perennial New York Times best-seller, Margaret Coel, calls Christopher LaGrone’s trilogy “a heartbreakingly honest tale of the lives that intersect and are forever changed along our bleak and dangerous southern border.”

Once a Border Patrol agent himself, LaGrone draws on his own experiences as a recruit, field trainee and border agent to provide an intimate and personalized picture of border enforcement from the perspective of the line agent. Through his complicated main character, LaGrone helps the reading public learn how difficult it is to become a Border Patrol agent and what it’s like to prowl the desert at all hours, dealing with human traffickers, drug smugglers and desperate individuals and families seeking a better life.

The result is a one-of-a-kind Border Patrol chronicle, from Morgan James Publishing.

After reading all three manuscripts, Coel, creator of the acclaimed 20-book Wind River series of Native American mysteries, said, “These are important novels, not to be missed or forgotten.”

All three books are available in eBook version

E-Book Now Available

All three books are now available in eBook version. Order from any of these retailers:

The Delta Tango Trilogy In The News

Human Dimension’ intensifies in Delta Tango Trilogy Book 2
From Send2Press.com – August 31, 2021. Opens in new tab.

Mesa mom advances late son’s novel dreams
From TheMesaTribune.com – January 22, 2021. Opens in new tab.

‘Rivals any fiction story today’ – High praise for Christopher LaGrone’s ‘The Delta Tango Trilogy’ one-of-a-kind Border Patrol series from Morgan James Publishing
From Send2Press.com – January 12, 2021. Opens in new tab.

Arizona agent’s book, published after his death, tells tales from the borderlands
From PinalCentral.com – October 26, 2020. Opens in new tab.